Welcome to Northern Humboldt Union High School District

The Northern Humboldt Union High School District is comprised of two four-year high schools, Arcata High and McKinleyville High; two small continuation high schools, Pacific Coast High and Tsurai High; and one charter school, Six Rivers Charter High.

Both regular high schools have been recognized as California Distinguished Schools.  The schools are Digital High School demonstration sites.  They have continued to lead high school test scores in Humboldt County.  There has been strong Board, community and faculty involvement and support for the District schools.  The District’s goal is to provide students with the knowledge and skills needed in an information society: liberal arts and sciences, analytical thinking, real world problem solving, and use of technology.

Read More

Recent News


8th Grade Visitations


Accepting Applications for the Measure Q Oversight Committee

Apply Now Represents At The Moment And Admission Deadline to Apply: Open Until Filled

The Measure Q Bond Oversight Committee consists of 7 members who oversee the expenditure of money for the construction, repair, and modernization of schools by NHUHSD.   The committee typically meets four times a year in its role as an advisory board to the Board of Trustees.  The committee submits an Annual Report to the Board each December.

There is currently two seats available, one to fill the role of an active member of the business community and the other must be an active member of a taxpayer organization.  If you live in the Northern Humboldt Union High School District and would like to serve on the committee, please complete the application below.  Please call Tammy Pires, Superintendent’s Secretary, at 839-6481 if you have any questions.

Citizens Oversight Committee Application

Bylaws and Ethics Statement of Measure Q Oversight Committee


Board Members Sworn In

At their December 11, 2018, Organizational board meeting, new Board member Theresa Grosjean, along with incumbent Board members Brian Lovell and Dana Silvernale were sworn in.


Back to top